The Opera & Banquet

27 Oct

As I mentioned in my last post relating to uni work, I will be talking about the new assignments for both Typography and Research & Reference modules.

Typography: Opera poster x3

Based on three operas, Cosi fan Tutte, Don Giovanni, Le Nozze di Figaro, all being played for the Winter Season 2012 at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden, London.

All three posters must have no imagery, but the text must be incorporated as the imagery itself so composition and the type of typeface will have to be taken into account.

We also have to design 3 tiles, then pick one to be put into a digital quilt from the groups we’ll be in. The design has to be based on the word ‘Opera’. I’ve done the design by hand but eventually I’ll digitise it and post it up here. Haven’t yet done the poster designs. Most likely do it tomorrow as my other module is being taken as first priority for the moment until I get the all clear that it’s A-OK.

Now, for Research & Reference, we have to produce a banquet: plate, cutlery, menu, napkin, napkin ring and three other items of our choosing, which will be a drinking glass/cup, placemat and coaster. This banquet has to be based on an artist/designer of our choosing, and I have decided to do English designer and Arts & Crafts founder William Morris. The website provided is based on the company he set up, called Morris & Co. back in 1875.

I’ll admit, I didn’t think of doing this artist. It came about when my mum was watching this programme called Flog It! (which helps people to value and sell unwanted items they have at auctions) and they had a 10 minute or so interval which talked about William Morris. So I guess tv helps in some ways of educating people :3

Anyways, I found quite a few interesting facts, and realised that a bed duvet/curtains in my parent’s bedroom was based on a design by Morris (this was my reaction when I realised it:  :O ), called Willow Bough (1887). As his designs are quite well known, they’re used a lot in today’s printing materials such as duvets and curtains as I’ve mentioned.

As for the information I found, I read how William Morris disapproved the Industrial Revolution, especially the machinery as it was exploited for profit and because of that, moral values of people who worked and crafted goods declined. So as an inspiration of individuality and the craftsmanship of the medieval period, he revived the traditional craft techniques that were once abandoned by the Revolution, proving that you don’t need to use machinery to make such exquisite works. This is what I found quite admirable.

I also found out that Morris also had a passion for hand-made objects, which I will incorporate into the design of my banquet. I have an idea already of what to do, mainly based on Strawberry Thief (1883) and using modelling/baking clay and painting and gluing… Basically making little tiny thrushes and Strawberries and placing them in accordance to what I’m thinking in my head right now.

Oh and just so you know, the creation of Strawberry Thief came about when thrushes kept stealing berries in the garden from Morris’ Kelmscott Manor home in Oxfordshire. Willow Bough is based on the willow trees growing on the banks of the River Thames. I think somewhat it’s quite sweet how the creations started out.

William Morris also worked with the colours: madder red, peacock-blue, russet-brown, sage green and soft yellow. So I’ll be working with all or most of the colours.

And that’s about it. I’m quite looking forward to the banquet, but not so much of the 1500 word essay we’ll have to do….

Anyways, I’m off to do more work now. Try and finish it off so I can have a weekend of video gaming with boyfriend! (Although I am sort of doubting it will happen this time around… T^T)

2 Responses to “The Opera & Banquet”

  1. Mark Armstrong October 27, 2011 at 18:50 #

    Sounds like a couple of challenging assignments. I mean for ordinary students. For you, piece of cake. Er, two pieces.

    Enjoyed the info on William Morris. Hm. Not sure he’d approve of computers and digital art– but he seems a decent chap just the same… : )

    Good luck!!

    • Sabine October 27, 2011 at 22:19 #

      It does sound it, but me being boastful, I’m sure I’ll come through! :D

      It is a wonder of what he’ll think of today’s technology… And Modern Art… But he may like it (the technology — not the Modern Art) since some of it is first hand-drawn before being digitised ^__^

Leave a Reply

