Opera Digital Quilt Tile

28 Oct

It didn’t take as long as I thought it would. Done it completely different from the original design.

This was the design from sketchbook. It’s taking the word ‘Opera’, and using the ‘3D shadow’ made from the letters. Apologies for the messiness — it was filled in with black paint and the brush I used was unfortunately not very precise. The layout isn’t great as I did the design quickly in class.

This one below is a digital version (2nd draft). I done it in a completely different colour and composition. I used Illustrator and Photoshop CS5.

Found that the colour makes the white letters stand out, but it seemed a bit plain. So I came out with this, the final design, which was done by duplicating the letters:

 

 

2 Responses to “Opera Digital Quilt Tile”

  1. Mark Armstrong October 28, 2011 at 23:07 #

    Your original sketch has a nice grungy look– I like it! Also like the way you embellished the letters in the last panel– a touch of elegance.

    Speaking of elegance, I’m wearing a tophat since I knew when I came here that I’d be attending the opera… : )

    • Sabine October 31, 2011 at 00:12 #

      Glad you like it, coming from a professional illustrator and all ^_^
      It’s probably one the most typographic things I have done in a long time (well, since last year to be exact) — but making it was a simple case of duplicating and moving the letters, with a separate layer as the main colour.

      But I never really thought it brought out that sort of quality… Happy it did, though, since that’s what the opera is all about: singing, tophatting, gowning, and all =]

Leave a Reply

