Back To The Past

6 Nov

So for a project in Experimental Communication I had to do a presentation based three images/instances on how and what influenced me to become what I am as a designer today.

This is the presentation and I hope you enjoy knowing that little bit more about me  : )

“Take One Egg…” Presentation

Whilst I was thinking it through and looking for things, when I thought of my Foundation year I looked through all the discs I had with my work from then on there. As you saw on the presentation, I did an illustration of an area of Covent Garden Market where there were performers (singers, instrument players etc). I still remember that day, Ryan was accompanying me and we enjoyed listening to the women play on the violins/violas and cello.

Anyways, I found some more images that I did back then, and thought I would share them with you. They were my first time in doing proper illustrations on Photoshop (version 7), where I was not yet introduced to the likes of Illustrator etc.

Big Ben

Covent Garden Market

Fleet Street Monument

London Eye

Millennium Bridge

Queen Victoria Memorial

Wonder if they would look the same if done again after three years… Who knows, because I don’t really want to redo them! They’re nice as they are, especially for reflecting back on my work : )

2 Responses to “Back To The Past”

  1. Mark Armstrong November 30, 2012 at 14:33 #

    Wow!! Those are wonderful illustrations, dear Fox– truly excellent! I dig ’em, one and all!

    Always great to see an artist’s earlier work, to see where they’ve been, and how their style and ideas have evolved.

    I agree with you about not wanting to redo earlier work. The desire is gone, and it always seems like a step backward. The work has served its purpose, and the artist has moved on, and rightly so. (It always makes me sad to see past-their-prime artists tinkering endlessly with their past “hits”; musicians seem particularly susceptible to this trap.)

    Great work, thanks for sharing, you’ve got a bright future! : )

    • Sabine December 3, 2012 at 16:52 #

      Thank you Mark. I’m glad to hear someone such as yourself can think so highly of me in that way : )

      It’s always great to look back on work and the development one’s path can take. It’s amazing to think that from three years ago (and earlier) until now, my drawing style has changed a lot. It was a project I really enjoyed in my Foundation year, so those drawings in some way bring back memories for me. That’s probably one main reason as to why I don’t want to alter them ^^

Leave a Reply

