Brain Cannot Think of Another Title For Another Blog Post. So Here’s the Post:

2 Jul

As you have probably noticed, I haven’t been on here in a while. It’s been a busy month, and still to be busy.

Unfortunately Ryan has been in and out of hospital a lot but will be having an operation on Wednesday, going home Thursday and I’ll be nursing him back to health for about two or so weeks. It was finally diagnosed with him having gall stones in the gall bladder and because the last time he was in hospital they didn’t do anything to help it, it has now also caused a liver infection which makes him 90% of the time sick when he eats, or cause major pain. So hopefully this time round it will be sorted out for good, as he’s been told he has had this for over 3 years now and was only noticeable until recently with all the hospital visits.

There’s also been a few problems arising with my brother and his course (which is for young adults with learning difficulties), and cutting the long story short it seems because he didn’t get enough marks for his speaking test he couldn’t progress onto the next level. And we only found out a few days before the college year ended!

Although we were told at first that he was sure to go on and nothing for us to worry, we were never told, and nor did his previous school know about this circumstance (since they send the students to the college to do the course), that there is any form of exams required within the course for the students to progress, as there shouldn’t be really. However, it wasn’t just my brother. Others in his class had the same predicament and we kind of felt abandoned by the college as we felt we were left on our own to sort out the problem.

In the end the past couple of weeks involved in me emailing a lot of people high up in the college and eventually getting to where we are now: an interview that took place today for a course for disabled young adults, that is taking place in another college (which I previously attended before university) that joined recently with the college my brother did attend. It looked very promising, and the course sounded great — more vocational than academic, which seems much more suited for my brother’s abilities.

Quite confusing I know, but that’s the best I can describe it as. But one thing I do appreciate greatly though is the help I got from people in the college who told me who to write to, suggesting the course more suitable for my brother, and sorting out an interview in a short space of time. So thank you so much! ^__^

But otherwise, I’ve been visiting a few degree shows as suggested by one of my tutors so that we are prepared for next year, and my oh my did I find some wonderful stuff created by such talented people : )

Anyways, good news is that I passed my second year of university with full credit! Hooray!

<(^o^<) (>^o^)> ^(^o^)^ v(^o^)v <(^o^<) (>^o^)>

Lower Second (2:2) for Digital Narratives — animation stuff I did

Upper Second (2:1) for Portfolio Development — book cover, news posters, info/environmental graphics

First (1) for Professional Design Practice — case study and sketchbook work

So, I am really, really, REALLY happy about it ^____________^

It is the second time in my two years studying in this course that I have been given a First (the previous one was for a digital module back in the first half of the first year). I’m so ecstatic of the results and hopefully in my third and final year I will achieve an even better outcome.

Oh and I celebrated it by buying a whole load of manga books which I’m halfway through reading, as well as buying this lovely Kokeshi style umbrella, which is so pretty! The lady that was selling this and myself were having a nice discussion about Kokeshi dolls, Sakura blossoms, Sailor Moon (as she noticed my Sailor Moon purse when I got money out to pay!) and how Ryan has an umbrella in the style of a Samurai sword which we got at the Hyper Japan event last year, which led to getting cautiously stared at by a police officer when I approached him for directions whilst holding the umbrella.

I haven’t used it yet as I think it’s too beautiful! And unfortunately you won’t get to see the umbrella itself, as I am not willing to open it indoors because I’m one of those who believes in the whole bad luck thing~ But the pattern is the same as what is on the umbrella case.

So that’s my life in the past month summed up. Not too sure how long it will be before I get to post again, but I’ll try to come back as soon as possible with more happier news!

For now, I’ll leave you with this:

2 Responses to “Brain Cannot Think of Another Title For Another Blog Post. So Here’s the Post:”

  1. Mark Armstrong July 9, 2012 at 01:05 #

    Ahoy, ahoy, Sailor Moonbeam!

    Apologies and belated congrats for not only passing Year #2, but doing it with a flourish, with an Upper Second and a First!! Hurrah!!!! Extremely well done– take a well-deserved bow!! You will be riding a very nice wave as you surf into your final year, with yes, even greater success to come! : )

    Very impressive, too, all the hard work you did on behalf of your brother, and, of course, your wonderful loyalty to Ryan. Hope both those fine chaps are hangin’ tough, and seeing some light at the end of the tunnel.

    Congrats again, Sabine– very proud of you!

    • Sabine July 27, 2012 at 18:21 #

      Thank you Mark. It was a busy year as you know and was wonderful to end it with those grades ^__^

      Both brother and boyfriend are doing fine. My brother got into the course he went for an interview for, and Ryan is still hanging in there (unfortunately), waiting it out.

      I appreciate your kindness and support very much, thank you : )

Leave a Reply

