A Little Less Panic and More Work Done

11 May

So this past week has been extremely busy, with another set of late nights and worrying that I won’t get anything done on time before the second year ends *big deep breath — long sentence*. Managed to do my Case Study report and presentation, which took four days to complete to its highest form (although it’s a draft — but tried to make it good). And lets just say that I found it the most interesting thing to do written/report/essay-like wise.

I was lucky that it took only my second attempt to contact a designer and allowing me to conduct my study on them. And although there were mishaps with my questions not being sent properly and going through a long process to enable my contact to receive them, it was managed in the end and I found some very insightful stuff on the design/illustration industry.

Anyways, I’ll be honest and say that I haven’t really done much on my infographics. Been preparing more stuff for animation (which I’m planning on starting this weekend — I created a bridge too using a sunglasses case, polystyrene and masking/cellotape (amazing what normal objects can become)). But I have scanned almost all of the manga covers… Taking forever ._.

But! I have started on my new and last assignment for Portfolio Development, which is Environmental Graphics. The restriction is that it has to be based on a statement on the theme of education and the courses at the university I study in. We did have some flexibility though, and it was that we could slightly alter the quote if needs be to fit in with our design (but if it’s a well-known quote, then it’s a no-no).

I prepared research on the topic and the different types of E.G. you get, and it is a really interesting area to cover in design, since it’s practically everywhere around you. I found some articles from design blogs which mentioned and showed example of environmental graphics, and some I was really blown away by and the ideas behind them are extremely well thought out. Anyways, I looked up on statements based on education and found quite a few.

Here are the ones I felt I could develop into a design a bit more:

“We need a metamorphosis of education – from the cocoon a butterfly should emerge. Improvement does not give us a butterfly only a faster caterpillar.” Learning to Learn (http://www.learningtolearn.sa.edu.au/)

Imagination is the source of every form of human achievement.” ― Ken Robinson

“Stock your mind, stock your mind. You might be poor, your shoes might be broken, but your mind is a palace.”
Frank McCourt

The reason some are in bold is to highlight the areas I liked most in the quotes, and where I’ll base my designs on. Also, I didn’t want to focus on just one course and base my design on that. I wanted to include every single course (and don’t ask me how many, you know what universities are like!) and unify it completely as it will be referring to all students and the university itself (unfortunately, these will never be real, only in the digital dream world).

Anyways, these are my designs in picture format. They were originally done using Illustrator and Photoshop, and took me this whole day gone to finish all five.

“Imagination is the source of every form of human achievement.”

Original Image:

 

Image imposed at the entrance/reception of the university:

“Your mind is a palace.”

Original Images:

My boyfriend saw this earlier and commented that the people look like egg cups. I can see the resemblance.

Super-imposed Images:

This area is between the reception and doors leading to cafeteria section (or what the uni calls it, “The Street”)

Between The Street and the library.

 “Metamorphosis of education — A butterfly should emerge”

Original Images:

These two drawings were from photographs I had taken and used as a reference for this assignment. As you saw in the earlier photo it has been raining the last few days, so no butterflies about. So how did I capture one do you wonder? Well, my mum has, in a frame, three (dead) butterflies. She collected them when we went to a butterfly sanctuary years ago and they are still quite reserved remarkably.

We really have some weird stuff in this house……

Super-imposed Images:

The Street/Cafeteria

A pillar near the reception

So that’s all of my ideas. My favourite really is the first design at the reception/entrance and the pillar one. On Monday we’ll see what my tutor says, any crit said and if any changes needed.

I do know that I need to somehow set up the light difference so it looks like they are in their surroundings. And somehow work out how to blend the graphics into the areas they’re on so they “show” the surface beneath.

And at the moment, I don’t feel so panicked as I have been like on the days that has passed. It felt weird today (well, yesterday over here now) but it felt like an overwhelming feeling of calmness… : /

Never know what goes on in this little brain of mine…. Must be all the paracetamol I have been taking for headaches lately.

2 Responses to “A Little Less Panic and More Work Done”

  1. Mark Armstrong May 15, 2012 at 17:12 #

    Whoa! You’ve been hard at it, young Fox! Sit your bushy tail down and take a breather!! : )

    Great choice of quotes, and your observation that true unity only exists in the “digital dream world” made me laugh.

    I liked all your designs, tho I must confess that the “brain egg cups” made me think of a certain Star Trek: The Next Generation episode. Some alien entrees can be a bit off-putting to the earthling stomach… : P

    I was really impressed with your super-imposing! Excellent digital simulations, one and all! I definitely want one of those Brain picnic tables with the Palace benches!! : )

    That was a lot of work, no joke– nice job! Hang tough, and good luck with the next phase!!

    • Sabine May 22, 2012 at 22:14 #

      I’m happy that it brought a laugh or two for you ^_^

      It is very hard right now to slow down. Everything is coming all at once! But with a little determination, I can get through it all ^^

      Since you mention it, the brain egg cup people does resemble something not of the earthling kind. All I kept thinking was scrambled bains : P

      The super-imposing was harder to do than the designs themselves. Trying to get the right angles and scale wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be, but I’m glad to know that someone like you feels that they’re really good.

      Thank you for your wonderful comment and stopping by with your everlasting support, Mark : )

Leave a Reply

