Finally it’s the Final Book Cover!

18 Apr

The book cover is now in its completed form, and I have submitted it to Penguin before it’s closing date, which is tomorrow. So there’s no going back now.

In my last post, I did these designs and emailed them to my tutor. Out of all of them, he liked number 7 but I was advised on doing a few changes:

  1. Make wolf eyes smaller and bring them down so it did not interfere with the typography.
  2. Alternatively, put the eye’s on back and have rabbit looking at title with ‘An attack etc‘ above the title.
  3. Put author’s name, Ken Kesey, in capitals.

These were the designs I came out with next:

I emailed my tutor with these designs, and number 3 was picked, with small changes to be made again:

  1. Eyes slightly smaller.
  2. Author’s name, Ken Kesey, in a smaller size and fit in the space between feet of 1st and 2nd row rabbits.

And this is what I came out with and have sent to Penguin:

I can’t believe just how long this project has taken me. It’s been way over a month now, I’m sure of it. I’m just thinking now: Finally! It’s over! Yippie!

Anyways, I hope it’s to everyone’s taste. Perhaps there could have been a few more changes, we’ll see what Penguin says. But if I don’t make the cut, it’s no biggie. I’ll be disheartened, but it won’t destroy me : )

There are plenty more chances! ^__^

2 Responses to “Finally it’s the Final Book Cover!”

  1. Mark Armstrong April 21, 2012 at 00:49 #

    You know, I think it came out great. When you work on a project for a long extended period, you get so close to it, you lose perspective– you forget how far you’ve come, and how many good, solid revisions you’ve made. You added a lot of value– well done , say I!

    Take a bow, then take a nap! : )

    • Sabine April 21, 2012 at 13:01 #

      Thank you, Mark ^^

      It’s quite interesting to see all the steps I took, and funny how the end result went back to the original colour scheme. And it does feel like that. Got quite confusing with the many designs I had :p

      A very overwhelming project, but a very good one at that : ) But I’ll definitely take that long awaited nap once everything is over!

Leave a Reply

