Book Cover Update (again!)

30 Mar

So right now I’m sitting here feeling really annoyed. And stupid.

For a whole day (since 8:30 this morning) I have been trying to sort out PDFs for my new design for the One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest book cover and it kept going wrong time and time again. Outlines were not coming out right. Colour wasn’t going right. Files were big (although big enough for file size restriction). Basically everything was not going well.

The cover looked fine on Illustrator, but Adobe Acrobat Reader wanted to play games with me >:E

And take forever to load the files when I did the PDF printing thing.

Then it was only 10 minutes ago I found out that I could do a “Save As” for a PDF file……… >_<

And everything worked out fine.

So in the end it has gone well, but it’s almost 6:20pm and almost a day has been missed for other plans to do Professional Practice!!!!

>__________<   *note that the expression now is in “more annoying mode”.

This is the new cover which I’m most likely going to enter into the Penguin Competition. Doubt I’ll win, but hey, it’s all fun:

If you can see, one of the rabbit people is in a slight different posture (arms crossed). This is McMurphy (it’s I believe one of the arm postures he tends to do — but also represents his strength and domineering appearance) and him looking towards the wolf eyes. Basically confronting Nurse Ratched (the wolf).

Dark gradient to show confrontation and the dark void the men are in, trapped in the mental ward for all their life, but with light at ‘the end of the tunnel‘ representing hope and freedom for them, which of course, if you have seen the film or read the book, it happens to two of the characters (although one is more darker as to how they get their freedom).

If you don’t know the reason as to why I have done rabbit people and wolf eyes, you can find out in a previous post.

And if this cover miraculously goes through to the next round there will be more feedback given for improvement and sent for the final entry. But as said, I doubt that will happen.

And that’s it. Now I’m off to do my other work until my boyfriend comes over for the weekend (although I’ll still be doing work!) ^__^

2 Responses to “Book Cover Update (again!)”

  1. Mark Armstrong April 2, 2012 at 15:35 #

    Ah!– my sympathies. I’ve had many days just like that. You wind up with something new and shiny for your bags of tricks, but only after a very hard slog… : (

    The revised cover looks great– very well thought out. I think I would have had the McMurphy rabbit sitting up straighter to convey more defiance, but that’s the sort of thing that’s very hard to see when you’re immersed in the process.

    The wolf eyes are a great touch! I’ll be rooting for you!! : )

    • Sabine April 7, 2012 at 13:08 #

      Guess everyone has those kind of days where it seems everything goes wrong then suddenly perks up again. It turned out better doing it that way also, so all was good ^^

      I can definitely see what you mean by having the McMurphy rabbit in a more defiant manner, would certainly bring out his strength and bold character : )

      I’ll see what I can do with it, but for now, thank you again for another lovely comment! ^__^

Leave a Reply

