Graphic Novel

23 May

I haven’t been on here in over a week. Been busy finishing up the last bits of our modules and handing them in (i.e. Illustration/Ideas & Development). Packaging & Branding is in for next Tuesday so there’s just about a week to go for that.

I’m quite happy that they’re all done, and really pleased with the outcomes. Ideas & Development, the last assignment was The Future’s Bright which I posted the other week. Packaging & Branding is based on what I have learnt and I’m working on that at the moment. Illustration, as you know, was the Visualisation/Graphic Novel assignment, which I decided to base on the play An Inspector Calls by J.B. Priestley (our final pieces had to involve the front cover and a double-page spread. I did a bit more as I couldn’t find a scene with all the characters, so I did two scenes instead).

I realised that I haven’t even explained what the play is about: The main family, the Birlings, are celebrating their daughter, Sheila’s, engagement to Gerald Croft. They are then interrupted by a mysterious stranger known as Inspector Goole, who questions them on the sudden death of a young girl in an infirmary. As it goes on, you find out how and why the girl commits suicide, with lies and secrets being exposed amongst the Birling household.

Some of the characters I drew are based on the actors of the film, and some weren’t but the hairstyle or a specific look to them was taken into account and used. And some of them, they were made up. The style is based on my own anime/manga drawing style, however I did not take up the traditional ways of reading it as Japanese manga (right to left) and is therefore  read in the original English ways of left to right. It’s confusing for me to look at though as I’m so used to reading manga rather than normal comics!

These below were my initial sketches of the characters with pencil lines still in tact (some of them I know are not really proportionally correct):

Arthur Birling – husband/father                             Sybil Birling – wife/mother

   

Sheila Birling – eldest daughter                 Eric Birling – son, younger of the two

   

Gerald Croft – engaged to Sheila Birling        Edna – maid of Birling household

   

Eva Smith – girl who commits suicide      Inspector Goole

   

After designing the characters, I drew out the pages/panels for the graphic novel in pencil, outlined it in pen, photocopied it and used the photocopies to scan onto the computer and digitise using Photoshop and Illustrator.

These are the final pieces:

Front cover

Character sheet

Act One

Act Three

My favourite out of all of them is the character sheet, mainly because for some reason, after I did all this and printed it out, some of the characters remind me of these Nintendo DS games called Hotel Dusk/Last Window which adopts the black and white theme for characters in the game. Anyways, if you’re wondering why I did the hair in this way (which is just pen lines) is because I wanted some form of movement on the characters, as well as give them a personality which is noticed by just looking at the hair, which is also what most people do in actual life. The chairs, cabinets and table on the first page is done by using the hard board on the back of my sketchbook and making rubbings of it on a piece of paper. I scanned the rubbing and then altered the tone using the curves tool in Photoshop.

Front cover was done by drawing out the outline of the shadow from a thumbnail sketch I did in my sketchbook, which was scanned in and drawn onto Illustrator. I then added a black/white gradient and afterwards altered it using the filter effect > render > fibres on Photoshop to get the desired effect.

Fonts used – Adobe Garamond Pro (bold); Myriad Pro (regular).

This took me about a week or two from beginning (designing the characters and working out the scenes to draw) to end (final outcomes). I hope you like it as much as I do, it’s the first (partly) graphic novel I’ve done ^_^

4 Responses to “Graphic Novel”

  1. Mark Armstrong June 2, 2011 at 14:15 #

    I’m a Priestley fan, but I’ve never seen that play. Nice job on the characters, and I especially like the front cover– moody and ominous, and sure to leave the reader intrigued. Well done!

    • sfox90 June 3, 2011 at 12:38 #

      Oh you would love it. It’s a definite recommend both book and film. Again, thank you for the generous comments – I’m glad the book gave off that effect/feeling, it’s exactly how I wanted people to think of it as!

  2. Jason lai February 21, 2012 at 21:57 #

    Does the inspector exist …….
    awesome pictures really helped me try to visualise the characters, well done!!

    • Sabine February 23, 2012 at 13:44 #

      That’s the one question we all ponder on.

      Glad I could help visualise the story for you. Thank you for the comment and stopping by ^_^

Leave a Reply

