Assignment Summary

29 Apr

For my next assignments, so far it’s been mainly for Illustration. Ideas & Development involved us in producing anything we want (from a drawing to a photo, sculpture or film), as to what we think communication technology will be like in five years time. For myself, I did a small illustration of a mini robot (minibot as I called it), which could do phone calls, internet etc on a small screen on its body which can become 3D and using your fingers, size it up to how big/small you want the screen. It’s quite cute in my personal opinion, and was influenced from this robot usb hub I’ve got. I’ll post it up at some point as right now I feel a bit lazy to scan it in.

I haven’t heard any new assignments for Packaging & Branding, which I’m ok with but also slightly worried… Don’t know if any emails have been sent or that my tutor is waiting until all these Monday bank holidays are over with to get us really into them.

Anyways, for Illustration, there are two more assignments. One I’m having a mental block on and the other I’m really looking forward to starting. Ok, so first one involves us producing an image that can be used for a banner for our university’s student accommodation building in Brentford. I have no idea what to do right now. It’s making me quite annoyed as I always have an idea for something straight away!

Second one, is called Visualising and we have a choice of three things: Exploded drawing, graphic novel or an animated promo. When I saw the brief, my mind set itself straight to graphic novel, which is possibly an obvious choice for me. The restriction for it, however, is that it is based on a classic literature from your childhood that has impacted you, or write your own. Luckily when I asked, I was allowed to do a play so my choice is the best thing ever: An Inspector Calls by J.B.Priestley. When I studied this book back in GCSE (which was about 5 years ago) I was so overwhelmed by it and the storyline. It really captured me and since then I could never ever get that book out of my mind. I finally have the book, and the 1954 film (with Alastair Sim) and going to enjoy watching and reading it again and again ^_^

Leave a Reply

