It’s A Wrap! Continued…

7 Apr

From last weeks blog mentioning of the new assignment, I have wrapped a few objects using materials found around my house.

Objects I’ve used: pine cone, vase & flowers, chair, electric radiator, coloured pencils, toy wing and a glass cup.

Materials used to tie objects and wrapping material together: elastic bands, sellotape and string.

The drawings I have done are prepatory drawings before I wrapped the objects.

Object One

                                              

For the pine cone, I used tissue paper to surround it as I wanted parts of the pine cone and the shape of it to show through. I chose the green colour of the tissue paper specifically to represent the natural element of the object and that the colour itself correlates to nature. The texture and sound of the tissue paper was also taken into context, as it sounded like dried leaves, again going back to the relation of nature. When I first drew the object without knowing what the finalised object will look, I believed that it will be more of an egg-shape showing the edges of the pine cone. When done, it became more bulky with creases caused by the tissue paper more so than the edges of the pine cone.

Object Two

      

 

The second object(s), is the vase and flowers. With the object itself being delicate, I wanted to portray that aspect as well as the vibrant colours. I used a big piece of clear plastic and enveloped the object inside it, then tying it together from the vase using string. This made it seem like it was filled with air like a balloon, but gives a soft and light feeling when seen.

Object Three

    

   

The third object was a chair covered in kitchen foil. I wanted to use this material as I wanted certain details to come out, such as the ‘bumps’ on the back rest (as shown in picture four).  I felt that the foil can easily ‘mould’ into the shape due to its structure and give out different textures of the chair: the bumps/roughness, and the smoothness of the cushion as shown in picture three. However, it was quite difficult as it kept tearing on certain areas of the chair, so I had to use smaller pieces to cover those bits. Unfortunately, after I took the photos, removed and thrown away the foil, I realised whilst looking at the pictures that I forgot to do the back legs. So if it looks somewhat odd somehow when looking at picture two, it’s because of that.

Object Four

   

   

Object four is the electric radiator covered in cling film. I wanted to use this material as I wanted the structure to still be shown through, as well as showing how strong and compact the radiator is. The stretching and tightly fitting of the material causes it to crease as it’s taking on the many shapes formed on the object, making you look at it as one whole piece instead of two.

Object Five

   

The fifth object is colour pencils wrapped in bubble wrap (using elastic bands). I used these objects in particular as there are many types of colour pencils, and by combining them together, it makes you look at every one and the colour that they portray. As for the bubble wrap, the first thing that came into mind was how actual bubbles, when light is reflected, colours are surrounding the edges or the inside, which is what I wanted to try to portray with the object and material being together.

Object Six

Object six is a toy wing covered in tissue (tied together with sellotape). I used tissue due to the soft texture it has and I wanted to portray that feeling of a soft wing. Initially I thought it would be possible to form the shape of the wing using the tissues, however, it was quite difficult and ended up with the main shape of it being surrounded. Due to its structure it portrayed a lot of creases, allowing you to look at the different angles and shapes given off. But when the wing was placed in certain angles, it intrigued me as it slightly looked like a person (or a mummified person) with their legs knelt up to the chest.

Object Seven

   

The last object I have done is a glass cup surrounded in elastic bands. I used a material that was initially meant for tying as it is able to stretch and mould into different shapes. I also wanted to show the two types of structure of the glass (hexagonal shape at bottom, circular on top) in a way that can be easily recognised. Using the glass also allowed the inside to be ‘surrounded and wrapped’ in its material, making viewers believe that the elastic bands are part of the glass cup and not a separate material.

Leave a Reply

